Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Spotlight on The Railwayman's Wife by Ashley Hay + Giveaway!!


Publication Date: April 5, 2016
Atria Books
Hardcover, eBook, & AudioBook; 288 Pages


Genre: Historical Fiction/Literary



Amidst the strange, silent aftermath of World War II, a widow, a poet, and a doctor search for lasting peace and fresh beginnings in this internationally acclaimed, award-winning novel.


When Anikka Lachlan’s husband, Mac, is killed in a railway accident, she is offered—and accepts—a job at the Railway Institute’s library and searches there for some solace in her unexpectedly new life. But in Thirroul, in 1948, she’s not the only person trying to chase dreams through books. There’s Roy McKinnon, who found poetry in the mess of war, but who has now lost his words and his hope. There’s Frank Draper, trapped by the guilt of those his medical treatment and care failed on their first day of freedom. All three struggle to find their own peace, and their own new story.


But along with the firming of this triangle of friendship and a sense of lives inching towards renewal come other extremities—and misunderstandings. In the end, love and freedom can have unexpected ways of expressing themselves.


The Railwayman’s Wife explores the power of beginnings and endings, and how hard it can sometimes be to tell them apart. Most of all, it celebrates love in all its forms, and the beauty of discovering that loving someone can be as extraordinary as being loved yourself.


Praise for The Railwayman's Wife



“Hay immerses the reader in Mac and Ani’s relationship, splicing flashbacks to happier times into the central narrative. Hay’s poetic gifts are evident in her descriptions of the wild coastal landscape and Roy’s measured verse. This poignant, elegant novel delves into the depth of tragedy, the shaky ground of recovery, and the bittersweet memories of lost love. Fans of Jodi Daynard and Susanna Kearsley will adore this.” -Booklist


“Hay has lovingly crafted a poignant, character-driven novel filled with heartache and hope, which is transferred to the reader through lyrical prose, poetic dialogue and stunning imagery.” -RT Book Reviews


“Hay is both cerebral and emotional in portraying life’s catastrophes and the way people cope. As if her message is too raw to lay out in blazing color, she camouflages it in poetry and half-seen images—and it works. The message is clear, and the shocks are softened but no less there. Multilayered, graceful, couched in poetry, supremely honest, gentle yet jarring, Hay’s thought-provoking novel pulls you along slowly, like a deep river that is deceptively calm but full of hidden rapids. Much to ponder.” -Kirkus


“Exquisitely written and deeply felt…a true book of wonders.” –Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Secret Chord


“An absorbing and uplifting read.” –M.L. Stedman, author of The Light Between Oceans


“This is a book in which grief and love are so entwined they make a new and wonderful kind of sense.” –Fiona McFarlane, author of The Night Guest


Buy the Book





About the Author



Ashley Hay is the internationally acclaimed author of four nonfiction books, including The Secret: The Strange Marriage of Annabella Milbanke and Lord Byron, and the novels The Body in the Clouds and The Railwayman’s Wife, which was honored with the Colin Roderick Award by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies and longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the most prestigious literary prize in Australia, among numerous other accolades. She lives in Brisbane, Australia.


For more information please visit Ashley Hay’s website.



Giveaway Time!!!



I am so excited to be able to offer up one print copy of The Railwayman's Wife for giveaway, open to US only! All you have to do is enter your name and email address on the giveaway form HERE. Please be sure to leave both your name and your email on the form so I can contact you if you are my winner (no email address, no entry!). For extra entries you can follow the blog in various ways (all links are on the right hand sidebar) and leave the name/email you follow with on the form. That's it!


I'll use a random number generator to pick a winner on May 2nd, 2016 and will announce the winner here as well as email the winner for their mailing address. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to my email before I have to pick another winner. If you have already won this giveaway on another site please let me know so I can pick a new winner and give someone else a chance to win a copy of this great book.


Good Luck!!


The Railwayman's Wife Blog Tour Schedule



Tuesday, April 19

Spotlight & Giveaway at Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More

Wednesday, April 20

Review & Giveaway at Flashlight Commentary

Thursday, April 21

Interview & Giveaway at Let Them Read Books

Monday, April 25

Review & Giveaway at Poof Books

Tuesday, April 26

Interview & Giveaway at A Literary Vacation

Thursday, April 28

Review at A Silver Twig

Monday, May 2

Review & Giveaway at The Maiden’s Court

Tuesday, May 3

Review at Book Nerd
Review at Queen of All She Reads

Thursday, May 5

Review & Giveaway at Bibliotica

Friday, May 6

Review at Back Porchervations

Tuesday, May 10

Review at CelticLady’s Reviews

Monday, May 23

Giveaway at Passages to the Past








7 comments:

  1. Great review; I loved it. The books seems to be amazing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't it sounds amazing?! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. Sounds like a powerful read. Would love this book!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nice words about the book, it sounds wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Using a Random Number Generator our winner of a copy of The Railwayman's Wife is....Letty B! Congratulations, Letty! I'm off to email you for your mailing address.

    Everyone, I have a bunch more giveaways coming your way this month, so stay tuned!

    ReplyDelete